I have the following questions related to the installation on windows 1) Is it possible to define an installation as patch for the major release in a way that it will appear in the Control Panel under View Installed Updates 2) Is it possible to define an installation as “update/upgrade” that causes the previous version to be uninstalled and new version to be installed

asked 07 Jan '13, 07:16

NicoleH's gravatar image

NicoleH
66202023
accept rate: 50%


The upgrade mode in InstallBuilder works differently - it updates the existing installation by adding the new and/or modified files to uninstaller information and updating version information in Add/Remove Programs.

As for uninstalling an application prior to installing it again, it is possible to check if uninstaller is present in specified location after installdir parameter is shown and run uninstaller. For example:

<directoryParameter> <name>installdir</name> (...) <postShowPageActionList> <runProgram> <program>./uninstall.exe</program> <programArguments>--mode unattended</programArguments> <workingDirectory>${installdir}</workingDirectory> <ruleList> <fileExists> <path>${installdir}/uninstall.exe</path> </fileExists> </ruleList> </runProgram> </postShowPageActionList> </directoryParameter>

It can also be run in <readyToInstallActionList> to avoid uninstalling application and then user not choosing to install it again.

It is also possible to read the location from registry and then run the uninstaller if appropriate registry key exists.

link

answered 07 Jan '13, 11:17

wojciechka's gravatar image

wojciechka ♦♦
7.8k61122
accept rate: 26%

When using Bitrock Upgrade functionality as you described below, will I see only the latest version of the product in the control panel or both of them? What will happen during the attempt to uninstall the package? Will it remove all the files, new and old?

Regarding my first question, is there a way to define installation as a patch so it will appear under Updates in Control Panel?

(08 Jan '13, 00:17) NicoleH

With the upgrade functionality, it will be shown as a single package and uninstall will remove the entire application. If you use a normal installation mode, it will create two different uninstallers and show as two different installations - you should set unique <uninstallerName> to avoid uninstaller name collissions.

As for showing it in Updates, it is not possible to register the software this way.

(08 Jan '13, 10:38) wojciechka ♦♦
Your answer
toggle preview

Follow this question

By Email:

Once you sign in you will be able to subscribe for any updates here

By RSS:

Answers

Answers and Comments

Markdown Basics

  • *italic* or _italic_
  • **bold** or __bold__
  • link:[text](http://url.com/ "title")
  • image?![alt text](/path/img.jpg "title")
  • numbered list: 1. Foo 2. Bar
  • to add a line break simply add two spaces to where you would like the new line to be.
  • basic HTML tags are also supported

Tags:

×156

Asked: 07 Jan '13, 07:16

Seen: 875 times

Last updated: 08 Jan '13, 10:38